Blog Post #13: Coraline

Although I have never been a fan of movies that at times make me jump out of my seat in fear, yes, I have a very low fear tolerance if Coraline scared me, but I enjoyed watching Coraline. I think what is so great about this movie is that the story line could have been shot in any sort of way, but the use of stop motion animation added to the overall “scary” feel of the movie.

If the animators of Coraline had used just computer animation techniques the feel of the movie would not have been the same. The somewhat jerky movements just add to the the personality of the characters, automatically being able to tell that Coraline’s environment is one that she needs to be careful about. Although the movie is not shot in full stop motion, using other techniques to make some of the movements smoother, the animators made the movements of the “other parents” more in the feel of typical stop motion to have their evil sides become more apparent.

Another movie that uses stop motion to add to the overall feel of creepiness and scare of the movie is The Nightmare Before Christmas. This movie is more true stop motion than Coraline, but that same feel can seen and felt throughout the movie. The same jerky movements of the characters, with the jerkiness being even more prominent in The Nightmare Before Christmas, allow for the characters to take on this persona of being a “bad guy” and not the first person you would want to hang out with, apparent before the character even opens its mouth to form a personality.

I have commented on Chris DeMarco’s blog and Bonnie Hansen’s blog

9 Responses to “Blog Post #13: Coraline”

  1. balberry Says:

    I am right there with ya. I’m a chicken when it comes to scary movies and I honestly thought “Coraline” was a little frightening as well. The other movie you mentioned “The Nightmare Before Christmas” scares me also. I think the stop motion does aid in making people appear more evil also. The “other parents” were quite creepy.

  2. Blog #13: Teen Girl Squad « Animation Says:

    […] commented on Emily & Myca’s posts this week. […]

  3. cfdemarco Says:

    Now, I cannot say I was scared about any point during the movie, Coraline, but I can agree it was a decent movie. But I am also not quite sure why I enjoyed it, to be honest. I guess I liked the way Tim Burton seemed to have his hands all over the creepiness of the film, because he’s definitely the master of that. The movie, to me, seemed to have a lot in common with the “Nightmare Before Christmas” as well. Both of which are good movies. But unfortunately, I cannot share the same feeling of being scared during either of them.

  4. Blog Post 13: Political Cartoons « Chris' Blog Says:

    […] this week, I commented on Emily Witt’s blog and Myca Taylor’s […]

  5. K.Wade Says:

    Emily, I also enjoyed Coraline. The dark colors, scary environments, and jerky movements of the characters reminded me a lot of The Nightmare Before Christmas. I felt that the combination of animation techniques in the film made the movie effective. The stop motion in the opening scene of the film when Coraline’s “little me” is being made sets the tone for the movie. It was graphic, eerie and mysterious. Little, creepy details like the “other mother’s” buttons for eyes and her elongated body stature added to the scariness of the film. Colors were also important in this film. Although the colors in the “real world” were bland and drab, which mirrored Coraline’s feelings about her life, they were more realistic. The colors in “the other world” were bold but always dark which created a sense of caution. Interestingly, although the film had several scary moments and slightly explicit scenes it was a wonderful story with lessons about understanding and acceptance.

  6. cwebber25 Says:

    I completely agree. This was a great movie and the way it was made definitely added to the characters and the feel of the movie. The characters had so much personality. I also agree the film was a little scary for an animation. I can’t even believe kids would not be scared of it.

  7. Blog Post #13: Archie comic adds gay character « Courtney's Blog Says:

    […] commented on Emily’s blog Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Archie Comics Will Have a Gay Character — Should […]

  8. cinnamellon Says:

    This is something i noticed as well. I feel more fluid motion would have lost tension or not built up enough of it. The “jerky” feel lends a more frightening atmosphere than CGI or tradition animation would. I think that is to be expected when Tim Burton does stop animation. His movies are always slightly twisted and I feel stop animation serves that purpose well

  9. Blog Post # 13: Anastasia « Cinnamellon's Blog Says:

    […] commented on this blog and this blog Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Blog Post 10: The Land Before TimeAgony: The […]

Leave a comment